Published at PO Box 96 124 W. St. Clair Romeo, MI 48065. Phone: (586)752-3524 Fax: (586)752-0548
Updated Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 3 PM EST
Home Sports Community What's Happening Classifieds News Summary
» Deadlines
Friday, 2 pm

Friday, Noon
Retail Display

Monday, Noon
Classified Display
Service Directory Display

Monday, 2 pm
Service Directory Liners

Monday, 3 pm
Classified Liners

All Holiday Deadlines are One Full Workday Earlier

You are Viewing an Archived Issue

Posted: 03/27/13

Above, the Romeo varsity hockey team celebrated their MAC White championship during a March 20 banquet at the Washington Lions Club. Below, All State players were recognized during the varsity hockey team banquet. Here they are pictured with Coach John Minjoe. Jake Rutkoske (Honorable Mention), Mitch Pacitti (Second Team), Hunter Jenuwine (Honorable Mention) and Nick Santi (Second Team).

(Photos courtesy of Sharon Jenwine)

MAC White champs wrap up
season at hockey team banquet

      The Romeo varsity hockey team wrapped up the season recently with its year-end banquet on Wednesday, March 20 at the Washington Lions Club.
       The evening began with a catered dinner and then recognition was given to several of the team's supporters including Romeo's biggest hockey fan, Kris Johnson, Betty Minjoe and Romeo Athletic Director Greg Brynaert.
       The team captains presented each of the coaches with a signed team picture.
       The theme throughout the evening was celebrating the MAC White championship team. Coach John Minjoe shared the successes of the team including many team and individual school records that were broken this year. Coach Jon Cendrowski then recognized each player and their individual accomplishments. Minjoe wrapped up the award presentation by recognizing the following:
       All State Second Team: Mitch Pacitti and Nick Santi.
       All State Honorable Mention: Hunter Jenuwine and Jake Rutkoske.
       MVP Award: Pacitti and Santi.
       Hobey Baker Award: Kyle Nedbal.
       MVD Award: Rutkoske.
       Hitman Award: Kyle Hansen.
       Ironman Award: Adam Soboleski.
       Lunch Box Award: Jenuwine.
       Bulldog Award: Wyatt Bevins.
       Sportsmanship Award: Cam Gillem.
       The evening was bittersweet as the senior teammates shared their hockey memories and goodbyes. The seniors include Bevins, Dakota Danescu, Gillem, Alex Gurnsey, Jacob Hoxsey, Matt McCracken, Nedbal, Rutkoske, Soboleski and Trevor Tessmar.
       Looking forward to next season, Minjoe announced that Dustyn Fleming, Hansen, and Pacitti will join Jenuwine as the team captains. It was a special night of celebrating and reflecting on a great hockey season.

School Sports
Games are home
Varsity schedules
(unless specififed)

No Schedule
Currently Listed

Copyright 2000-2015 The Romeo Observer.
Retrieved 8/3/2015 at 3:10:01 PM.
Contact us at: PO Box 96, Romeo, Michigan, 48065
Phone: (586) 752-3524, Fax: (586) 752-0548
news @
Web Site Services Provided By Romeo Computer Company, Inc.