Published at PO Box 96 124 W. St. Clair Romeo, MI 48065. Phone: (586)752-3524 Fax: (586)752-0548
Updated Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 3 PM EST
Home Sports Community What's Happening Classifieds News Summary
» Deadlines
Friday, 2 pm

Friday, Noon
Retail Display

Monday, Noon
Classified Display
Service Directory Display

Monday, 2 pm
Service Directory Liners

Monday, 3 pm
Classified Liners

All Holiday Deadlines are One Full Workday Earlier

You are Viewing an Archived Issue

Posted: 11/14/12

County incumbents
re-take seats in election

Observer Staff Writer
      Residents chose a number of incumbents to remain in place for Macomb County government in the 2012 election.
       The Nov. 6 selection saw a number of incumbents at the county level defeating their opponents at the polls. Voters also chose to vote down a facilities and technology millage proposal for Macomb Community College.
       Don Brown retained his seat as the District 7 County Commissioner with a total of 21,300 votes (68.9 percent) to beat Democratic opponent James Winne, who garnered 9,604 votes (31.1 percent).
       "I'm very pleased to have the confidence of the constituents of District 7," he said. "I will continue to be a responsible member of the board."
       He said he plans to work with the executive's office to maintain a balanced budget as well as working to create an environment that spurs job creation.
       Other positions in county government were up for grabs as well, but the incumbents remained in their seats for four more years.
       County Prosecutor Eric Smith received 245,362 votes (65.6 percent) in the race for his seat, beating Republican opponent Michael Wrathell, who earned 128,504 votes (34.4 percent).
       County Sheriff Anthony Wickersham was selected to retain his seat as sheriff with 229,790 votes (61 percent), beating out Republican opponent Steve Thomas' 134,099 votes (35.6 percent) and Libertarian Scott Allen's 12,708 votes (3.4 percent).
       County Clerk Carmella Sabaugh remains in her seat with 242,017 votes (65.3 percent), defeating Republican opponent Debera Guenther's 128,468 votes (34.7 percent).
       County Treasurer Ted Wahby also defeated a Republican opponent, gathering 212,829 votes (58 percent) to Larry Rocca's 153,867 votes (42 percent).
       County Public Works Commissioner Anthony Marrocco ran unopposed on the ballot, collecting 261,072 votes (100 percent).
       The proposal from Macomb Community College would've paid off $56 million over a period of 10 years with a .15 millage increase. The project would've funded improvements at the college's two campuses.
       The millage was voted down with 186,385 "no" votes (52.9 percent) to 166,099 "yes" votes (47.1 percent). Locally, voters in Bruce, Ray and Washington townships voted against the tax increase.
       A total of 66.1 percent of registered voters submitted a ballot in Macomb County during the election.

Copyright 2000-2015 The Romeo Observer.
Retrieved 8/5/2015 at 4:25:38 AM.
Contact us at: PO Box 96, Romeo, Michigan, 48065
Phone: (586) 752-3524, Fax: (586) 752-0548
news @
Web Site Services Provided By Romeo Computer Company, Inc.